Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Health And Fitness Forums * General Questions * An Average Question from an average Joe < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  Start New Thread        

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Carl Green
Username: averagejoeschmo

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2004 - 12:48 pm:   View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello everyone,
I'm new to all this so be gently with me :-)
Firstly a bit of background on me.
I am an average Bloke, 41 yrs Old, @ 6ft, approx 14 stone (on a good day!) Reasonably fit, (I go to the gym at least 3 times a week), 36 (ish) waist, Eat like a horse, drink like a fish, smoke like a chimney. I tend to work out with weights (quite intensley) and have just started quite a bit of bike work (approx 40 mins minimum per session at @ 80% of Max heart rate) followed by the weights.
My question is simple, How will I loose weight (or define my body shape) without changing too much of what I like doing (Smoking/Drinking and Eating!)
I tend to work on the basis that if I have had a "Heavy" weekend , I work harder at the gym.

Do you think a personal trainer to devise a program specifically tailored for me (When I train, I train to "hurt" and then think I have had a good workout, (is this wrong?))would help?

I seem to be making all the effort but not actually getting anywhere, any advise or pointers would be appreciated (Please don't reply with Cut this out, cut that out, I know all the bad things I am doing (but they seem to make life worth living!:-) )
Thanks

Jessica Smith
Username: latino

Post Number: 13

Posted on Saturday, November 13, 2004 - 10:25 pm:   View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)