Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Health And Fitness Forums * Weight Loss Questions * I'm stuck!! < Previous Next >

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Paige

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, August 14, 2002 - 01:50 pm:   View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I've been dieting for about 2 months. I've done well until now. I've lost 18 lbs. and for the past couple of weeks, I haven't been able to lose an ounce. I have increased my water intake, exercise, and decreased my carbs, cals., and fats. Now what? I can't understand what the problem is. It's not muscle gain; is it a plateau? Only 18lbs. and I've hit a plateau? If anyone has any suggestions, please, share them with me.
Thanks

Nick

Posted on Thursday, August 15, 2002 - 06:28 am:   View Post/Check IP    Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Paige: You're doing great so far! Don't let not being able to lose weight at the same pace phase you. You're body's building up muscle and repairing itself, so don't worry too much about not being able to lose another 9lbs. a month.

The most weight comes off in the first couple of months, now you're in a "zone" of sorts. Keep doing what you've been doing and don't get too carried away overworking yourself. Your body's doing what it needs to do to compensate for this new routine of diet and excercise.

Don't focus on pounds so much, start looking at inches and overall physical health. The muscle you're gaining may actually tack on a couple of pounds, so don't get discouraged by that scale. Before long, with the new muscle and the reduced fat, you'll start burning calories more efficiently. So, if you're eating multiple times a day and feeling full and continue doing so at the same rate as you have, you'll start to see another period of weight loss.